Press enter to search

University of the Free State

Inspiring excellence. Transforming lives.

University of the Free State, Nelson Mandela Dr, Park West, Bloemfontein, South Africa + Add review


The University of the Free State is based in Bloemfontein. It was first established in 1904 as an institution of higher learning and as part of Grey College and was fully desegregated in 1996. The university awarded Oprah Winfrey an honorary doctorate in 2010. Some of the attractions of the university include the impressive sports facilities and the diverse range of cultural activities.

For students who want to become more involved, there is the student newspaper, IRAWA, and a campus radio station, KovsieFM. There are many resources available, including the  Sasol Library, the Frik Scott medical library, and a career guidance centre. The university aims to contribute to local and global knowledge with a transformed curriculum. 

The two satellite campuses of the University of the Free State are based in Bloemfontein (known as the South Campus) and QwaQwa, originally part of the University of the North. All campuses are accessible for those with disabilities. The university provides added support for these students. 

University of the Free State Faculties and Schools

  • Economic and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Health Sciences
  • Law
  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Theology
  • University of the Free State Business School

The university has over 7000 postgraduate students and produces alumni who promote diversity, inclusivity, and transformation.